PSL 2024: Multan Sultans beat Islamabad United by 5 wickets

Multan Sultans beat Islamabad United by five wickets in the fifth match of Pakistan Super League (PSL) Season 9 on Tuesday

Multan Sultans defeated Islamabad United by five wickets in a nail-biting encounter on Tuesday at Multan International Cricket Stadium as part of the Pakistan Super League’s (PSL) ninth edition.

After Sultans’ quicks, Mohammad Ali and Abbas Afridi prevented United batters from reaching a large score, and the Rizwan-led squad chased the 145-run mark in the final over, despite losing five wickets.

It marks the Sultans’ second victory, after defeating Karachi Kings by 55 runs in the tournament’s third match, joining Quetta Gladiators as the only other side with two wins.

Rizwan got off to a good start in his pursuit of 145 runs after Dawid Malan was dismissed (0). The 31-year-old hit a quick 43 off 33 balls, including six fours and two sixes.

South Africa’s Reeza Hendricks maintained his good form, scoring an important 58 runs off 46 deliveries.

Iftikhar Ahmed, Pakistan’s all-rounder, took leadership of the chase, leading the side to victory on the fifth ball of the twentieth over. He scored 17 runs off 18 balls, while Dawid Willey added seven runs off six.

For More Updates Follow:

Naseem Shah, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, and Tymal Mills all got wickets for Islamabad United.

Earlier, Mohammad Ali and Abbas Afridi took three wickets each to reduce Islamabad United to 144.

Agha Salman and Jordan Cox forged a tenacious combination, recovering from early losses to score 68 runs in 48 balls. Cox contributed strongly with 41 off 28 balls, including two boundaries and two sixes, before being removed lbw by Usama Mir while attempting a switch shot.

Salman top-scored with a solid innings of 52 off 43, including three boundaries and two sixes.

The final three wickets fell in Mohammad Ali’s penultimate over, with Naseem Shah being run out on the last ball to bring Islamabad United’s innings to an end at 144.

Afridi and Ali ended with bowling figures of 3-29 and 3-19, respectively, while Mir claimed two wickets.

Related Articles

Back to top button